Lack of new posts

This is simply a short post explaining why I haven’t posted a lot lately, and why I’m also not planning to have a lot of reviews out in the near future.

Four years ago I had to pick a study, and I chose to study Law at the University of Utrecht. I had a lot of fun with my fellow students, but in the last year I realized that this wasn’t going to be something I’d like to work with. I didn’t even look forward to finding a job. So, I decided to give space to a thought that has always been in the back of my head. I’ve been thinking I would like to be a elementary school teacher for a long time, but I never really considered it because of two reasons. The first reason was that I didn’t think I was capable for it, I never worked with children and didn’t think I would be good at it. The other reason was that there’s some kind of social pressure that if you can, you should do the best study you can. Working with the Law can generate better paychecks and of course there’s the Masters degree. However, I realised that I wasn’t going to have the satisfaction in that field of work, that I do think I will find when teaching children.

So since early September I started on the Hogeschool Domstad (also in Utrecht), and I find that I’m having less time for Pocket PC related things. So as a logical consequence, I can no longer post reviews that take a few hours to write.’

I’m not sure what’s going to happen with the blog though, for two reasons. First of all, I wouldn’t want to close down a site that some people still find useful for the reviews and articles that are available at this moment. Second, there’s the chance that I’ll want to write an occiasional review. I think that I will just decide at that moment wether to post it here or ask one of the kind folks at SolSie.com, MyTodayScreen.com or JustAnotherMobileMonday.com if they’d like to publish my review.

I’m sure I’ll see some of you around, wether it is on the SBSH forums, one of the blogs I mentioned above, the SBSH, Astraware, Mastersoft, Ilium or eSoft Interactive beta teams, or somewhere else. :)

4 thoughts on “Lack of new posts

  1. Stefan –

    Thanks for letting us know what’s up. I was wondering about what happened to you! Good luck on your chosen endeavor, and keep the site alive…

  2. I’ll do that. If it would be a personal blog I’d delete it I guess, but there’s no real private information on here so keeping the blog up seems like the best option (and it keeps open any future possibilities).

  3. Thanks for all your reviews which have been keeping us to date – I specially followed your Today screen reviews amonst others
    I’s suggest that all the readers now make an effort and contribute to keeping this blog alive.. what would you say if we send our proposals to you so that you spend less time in writing but just reviewing/checking?
    Let us know! And best luck with your courageous decisions

  4. Well in general I think that this blog was not updated often to begin with, I sometimes had a week in which I wrote several reviews but that didn’t happen often. I think it will be smarter to just move on to frequently updated sites like SolSie.com, MyTodayScreen.com, JustAnotherMobileMonday.com etc. If I write a review in the future, I will also have it posted at one of those. :)

    As for the Today Screen updates, I’m glad you liked those! :) Several forums have such a thread and instead of posting in all of those, I preferred to put it on one place. In fact, that (and the page with my istalled software) will probably still be updated in the future, but the general posts/reviews will just stay here for archiving purposes. :)

    Thanks for your comment!

Comments are closed.