Happy new year, and my favourite apps/games

After reading “Happy new year” posts on several sites, and still having 30 minutes of spare time, I thought it would be nice to have a “Happy new year” post at the top of my blog for the coming days, since there is not really anything planned in the future. After the holidays I’ll probably have several busy weeks at college so I can’t really say a lot about how things will go in the coming time. There are also quite some games I haven’t been playing as much as I’d like, so there’s simply a lot from the past that needs to be ‘processed’ before moving on to new things, probably. But I change my mind quite regularly, so who knows… ;)

So, first of all, I’d like to wish all the readers of this blog a happy, healthy, and creative 2008 filles with lots of love, joy, and peace. But we all know that’s not going to happen any time soon, people wouldn’t be people if they didn’t have emotions. Those include friendship, respect and tolerance, but for some there is more of the opposite, unfortunately.

This blog is of course about Pocket PC’s, which is a relatively easy subject to write about, when comparing it with all the large problems of daily life. The fact that you’re reading this means that you have an internet connection and probably a Pocket PC as well. Feel happy about having that luxury, many people live with a lot less!
Of course there are also smaller problems in daily life, such as which software to load on your device. That’s something I might be able to help you with right here.

My 10 favourite Windows Mobile Professional applications in random order

My 5 favourite Windows Mobile Professional games in perhaps-a-little-less random order

I don’t have a software store linked with my blog so I can’t promote it here either – the name of the software title brings you to it’s product page. I might need to find a way to get in some money for this blog if I need to upgrade it’s storage space in the future, so there might be a branded store or some sort of advertisement/promotiong in the future. However, for now I’m enjoying to send my readers to the developer of the software, and let the developer decide how he/she wants to sell the software (Handango, Mobihand, ClickGamer, PayPal, or whatever). I would like to keep this blog as much ad-free as possible, since they might give the blog a biased look. Of course, if I get to the point where I have paid advertisement on my blog, this would not affect the opinion I have in my reviews. Money doesn’t buy positive reviews. But of course good contact with the developer might increase my faith in their development team. Anyway, all this is not important yet at the moment, it’s just something I’ve been thinking about lately.

Enjoy 2008, it’s gone faster than you can imagine!

8 thoughts on “Happy new year, and my favourite apps/games

  1. SPM,

    Happy New Year. Please, feel free to link to the JAMM store if you like. :)

    And great list. I am sorry to see you have included no Spb products. ;)

    Doug

  2. Thanks both, and best wishes to you as well!
    (Probably the third time Doug hears this, I think I’ve said it twice on JAMM as well ;))

    Doug, as you know I’m so used to my SBSH setup that I’ve uninstalled the SPB suite after one or two days of trialing, on several occasions. The only SPB license that I have is for SPB Freecell, and while I’ve always thought that it’s a very good Freecell clone, I don’t think I should take out TileLander or Machines at War in order to include SPB Freecell, right? ;-)
    Anyway, SPB does make very popular software so they’ve earned their mention here in the comments. ;-)

  3. Happy New Year spmwinkel! Hope that it will be peaceful and successful! And all the best with your studies! Hurry up and qualify, I need a lawyer to take on AOL!!! Hee hee hee!!

    Martyn

  4. Thanks again, and best wishes to you as well, of course! Sometimes I feel I’m repeating myself endlessly in the first week of January, even more now I’m you, SolSie and Doug a happy new year boh here and on SolSie.com and JAMM.

    Hey, how cool would it be if I’d focus my studies on the mobile communications field or software development, and then we joke around and sue some companies. SBSH for having a widely respected customer support, SPB for creating software that is used by too many people, Astraware for making puzzle games which are way too addicting, etc.
    Or we could sue Handango for scaring away customers with Download Protection!

Comments are closed.