Screen protector: Brando Ultra Clear Protector Plus

When getting a touch screen device worth several hundreds of Euro’s (for me, or Dollars, since most of the English speaking online PPC community calculates prizes in Dollars) you don’t want to get a scratch on your device the very first month and feel bad about that for the rest of the year(s) you are going to use that device. So, you want a screen protector. They probably don’t cost more than your favourite commercial software program, and provide not only protection to your screen, but also some rest to your mind, knowing that you don’t have to worry if you accidentaly find your keys in the same space as your device. In a bad scenario you might have a scratch on your screen protector, but that’s still way better than having a scratch on your precious screen!

On my HTC Wizard, I’ve been using a Brando Ultra Clear Protectur Plus screen protector. I have always been very happy with it, since it was very clear: except for the fact that you could see the borders of the screen protector on the edges of the screen, you couldn’t see that a screen protector was applied to the screen.

When I got my HTC Kaiser (still not sure if I’m going to call it TyTn II all the time, or Kaiser) I initially planned to keep that screen protector on my Wizard. Why mess with something that’s good, right? Well I had another screen protecter laying in a closet, one that I won in a contest once. While I don’t really think that there was anything wrong with that screen protector in general, is was a screen protecter that gave my screen really feel like paper. Writing with my stylus on the screen really just didn’t feel smooth anymore, and I didn’t like that. (Here is where the “personal preference” comes in, if you like the feeling of paper on your screen or are used to that, you might prefer it)

So I switched the screen protectors. I removed the Brando one from my Wizard and put it on my Kaiser, and vice versa. The problem here was that you need to get under a corner in order to remove the first part of the screen protector. Once that’s done, you can easily remove the entire protector. I used a needle for that, trying to get the little sharp side under the screen protector. Unfortunately, that didn’t work as I planned, since when I applied it to my Kaiser, I could see where I lifted it from my Wizard. Since I did really enjoy the feeling of the Brando protector, I immediately ordered a new one. (For people from the Netherlands: I recommend ordering from GPSPlaza, it’s fast and good. The Brando protector costs 8 Euro’s, no shipping costs.)

Ordered late on Saturday, I assume that my order got processed on Monday, because at 19:30 I recieved an e-mail that it had been shipped. And this morning, it was delived. I’m sure that if I would have ordered it Monday during the day, I would also have recieved it today.

Applying the screen protector was VERY easy. The package didn’t contain a micro fiber cloth or a plastic card to squeeze air pockets from under the screen protector, but I didn’t need them. I did have them ready from another screen protector package, but the Brando protector applied almost perfectly. I went to the bathroom and turned on the shower with hot water. After a minute of 3 the room was filled with hot air, so that when I blew some air on my screen, you could see the same as you see when blowing air to a window when it’s freezing outside. This greatly helps removing the dust from the environment. After applying there still was one piece of dust under it however. Luckily, since the Brando protector has two pieces of plastic on the protector (one at the bottom which has to be removed before applying, and one on top which must be removed afterwards) it was very easy to peel off the corner of the protector that had the piece of dust under it, and I used a needle to remove it. Then I carefully re-applied that corner, and now it was completely dust-free. There was one small air pocket but I simply removed it with my thumb, it was that easy. And now I’m extremely pleased with how my screen looks: no dust at all, the edges of my screen protector look perfect (no needle marks), and no air pockets.

So, my recommendations:

  • Use a screen protector.
  • If you want a good and clear one, use the Brando Ultra Clear Protector Plus.
  • Apply it in the bathroom after closing the door and turning on the (hot) shower for several minutes.
  • Have a micro fiber cloth ready to remove dust, if you have one. And a credit card, if there are annoying air pockets that can’t be removed with your thumb. Push the air pocket to the closest edge/corner.
  • Any remaining dust particles should be removed with the sticky side of some clear tape, this is better than doing it with a needle.
  • If you need to use a needle to remove your screen protector later, you could scratch it, so be very careful. Some screen protectors can be removed using scotch tape, try that first. Alternatively, use a toothpick from wood or plastic. It still has a relatively small point but might be less sharp, meaning less chance at scratches (if it’s still sharp enough to peel off the corner of the protector, of course!).
  • Take your time. Position one corner and make sure that it aligns correctly to both the horizontal and vertical edge, and then slowly apply it diagonally to the other corner.
3 thoughts on “Screen protector: Brando Ultra Clear Protector Plus

  1. Cheers for the post. The bathroom pointer for applying a screen protector is good one. There are some interesting new screen protectors around, which offer multiple features. Always worth the investment to protect your screen.

  2. I agree!
    I’m normally not the person that purchases extra warranty, I normally say “well I’m quite carefull with my devices”. However, I’ve been really enjoying the screen protectors on my PPC’s and my iPod, and I make sure to apply the protectors on new devices before I really start to use them.

  3. Exactly – just as you would apply a furniture protector to your new furniture before use, so should a screen protector be applied. The small outlay more than covers the cost of damage.

Comments are closed.